Mega Man RPG Prototype General Discussion

My review of the MMRPG Prototype.

September 9th, 2014 at 9:43pm
 
ThatGuyNamedMikey
ThatGuyNamedMikey
2,395,585,460 BP
32 TP | 451 PP
So, I beat all mandatory chapters earlier today, and the game basically asked me to leave feedback 3 times [once for each Dr. completion], so, after much procrastination on it by me [mostly because of the Force Stars that have appeared in the mandatory Chapters], I'd like to give my feedback on what I think about this game.

Firstly, it should be mentioned that this is from the opinions of a FIRST timer. As of this post, I've only been playing the game for BARELY 1/2 a week. Expert players with months--if not YEARS--of experience and with WELL over a billion BP [I'm looking at you, TailsMK4] are--more often than not--going to tell you that the game is flat-out easy almost from beginning to end if you know what you're doing; I found out otherwise REAL quick. Especially in the final levels of the game.

I'll cover the storyline, visuals, sound and gameplay, in that order.


Storyline:

MMRPG Protoype's storyline goes something like this: Somehow, someway, Dr. Thomas Light [and his robots, Mega Man and Roll], Dr. Albert Wily [and his robots Bass and Disco] and Dr. Mikhail Cossack [along with his robot Rhythm, and his new ally, Proto Man] all found themselves inexplicably trapped in different places inside some kind of prototype battle simulator, and in order to escape, they have to fight their way out by beating all of the Robot Masters that MM Classic series fans know, love and hate, along with a few original ones that the MMRPG Prototype developers came up with on their own.

It does at least have *some* kind of storyline to start with, however simple it may be. It's not like Mega Man 3 [the NES one], where you see NO storyline until you're 2/3rds of the way through it. :P

My storyline rating: 7/10.



Visuals:

I should mention at this point that MMRPG Prototype is browser-based; You'll never have to download or install anything in order to play it [you just have to sign up for the MMRPG Prototype Forum, first, and still, that's free]. As a result of this, the visuals aren't perfect; they seem to be modeled mostly after the 6 8-bit MM titles, which, admittedly, originally had me thinking that this was gonna be a Mega Man 9 or Mega Man 10; too short and too stuck-in-the-past to truly be as memorable as some of it's superior predecessors.

However, if your web browser doesn't completely suck [I have IE 11, and it seems to play this almost smoothly], you'll see that the people that provided the sprites for this game knew what they were doing. The attack animations for each character are pretty well done, and each robot master has new poses, new speeches and new attacks. For a browser-based game, it's not shabby at all.

Your visuals rating may vary; Mine's is 8.5/10.


Sound:

Unfortunately, as of the time of this review, the current version of Prototype has no sound effects. None. At all. At least, as far as I've heard.

However, it DOES have music, and HOLY CRAP, was it chosen well. The music selection was made pretty much entirely by Youtube user TheLegendOfRenegade [whose channel link is in the Prototype website's Credits page]. It's unmistakably Sega Genesis remixes of every MM1, MM2 and MM4 Robot Master stage, and it sounds kick-butt. If you love NOTHING else about this game when you're tired of it serving your butt to you on a plate, you'll LOVE the music. The original music is great, don't get me wrong, but, in instances like Renegade's Mega Man 9's Wily Castle 1 remix, some of the music is just as good, if not BETTER, than their original NES counterparts.

My sound rating: 9.5/10



Gameplay

The gameplay is really the only major scratch in the whole experience. As I mentioned in a Suggestions topic [this one, as a matter of fact], the game is about as beginner-friendly as the Mega Man Zero series was; almost not at all. There's no tutorial of any kind for beginners, and you're thrown into the action straightaway.

The very first enemy you fight in the entire game is a single Mettaur. It's weak, but, it has just enough Defense to show you the simplest parts of the game's battle mechanics; Damage your opponent[s] until their HP hits zero, and you win Experience points [which helps your robot army grow stronger], BP [which can unlock things later on], and maybe some items [though the chances of you getting items near the start of the game seems significantly low at the start, and increases little by little as you complete more of the game].

Seems simple enough, right? WeeeeeeeeelI, immediately after that, you have to choose who you'd like to fight next from among the 6 Robot Masters in Mega Man 1 and Time Man and Oil Man from Mega Man Powered Up. Here's where things take a turn for the ugly.

Unless you wanna ruin the challenge and fun of figuring things out for yourself by taking a look-see at all the things that the good people on the MMRPG forum have posted regarding how to make things as easy as possible in an RPG that does demands that luck be on your side in some way, shape or form, you're gonna assume that things are easy, only to find out that...

Cut Man can damage you up to 3 times with one attack,
and/or that Guts Man's Attack and Defense is MASSIVE,
*and/or* that Ice Man--with his superior speed--will mop the floor with you by Freezing you in place, thereby forcing you to just sit there and take his attack-power-heavy Ice Breath,
**and/or** that Bomb Man will blow you the heck up with HIS attack-power-heavy bombs,
***AND/OR*** that Fire Man can boost his Defense while chucking Attack-power-heavy fireballs at you,
****AND/OR**** that Elec Man will shock you to death with both his high speed *and* his OUTRAGEOUSLY high attack power,
*****AND/OR***** that Time Man will continuously make sure that you're slower than he is, making it all the more possible for him to chuck any strategy you had for him out the window by almost always attacking you first,
******AAAAND/ORRRR******* that Oil Man--the fastest of the bunch--can do what Time Man does without having to slow you down at all.

On top of THESE, you must always battel the Robot master on their turf, just like in the Classic series, however, their stages allow for their attacks to do AT LEAST DOUBLE the damage that it normally would. Because of this, Prototype gets REAL hard, REAL quick. There were difficulty curves in the Mega Man X series that were nowhere *near* as steep as this.

There's usually 1 or 2 [or 3] weaklings in amongst the bunch that can be beaten with just your normal weapons, which, after beating the Mettaur, is Mega Man's Mega Buster in pot shot form and powered up form, and the latter requires a turn to charge. Here, though, they ALL have the potential to send you scurrying away with your metaphorical tail between your legs and an 'eff this!' look on your face.

You MUST utilize the game's shops and items if you hope to have any chance of survival against some of these 8, and even then, NO ENEMY IN THE ENTIRE GAME drops currency. You have to sell items at Auto's Shop in order to get ANY currency at all. Buying the right items, and using those items at the right times can mean the difference between victory in defeat; more so here than in any Mega Man RPG I've ever played.

If you do somehow make it past them, though, the game gets slightly more enjoyable and slightly more challenging [and slightly more fun] with each victory. Each of the 3 Dr.'s storylines has a total of 5 Chapters with a total of 17 battles, and thats not counting the Story+'es of MAMMOSITHLY, HUGANTICLY GINORMOUS proportions awaiting you if you beat a Dr.'s storyline completely.

You must first make it past the extreme difficulty curve, though. Good luck with that.

My Gameplay rating: 6.5/10.


Is this game worth trying out? Most definitely.
Is it worth playing on a regular basis? For sure; the Story +'es make sure of that.

If you're stubborn enough to not give up and to persevere, this may be the MM RPG game you've always dreamed of.......once it's finished, that is.

Storyline: 7/10 [there's a moderately good storyline SOMEWHERE in there],
Visuals: 8.5/10 [though, this may vary greatly for you],
Sound: 9.5/10 [No sound effects, but awesome music more than makes up for this],
Gameplay: 6.5/10 [because of the huge Diff curve]


My final Rating: 7.875/10.




by the by, I'm not just gonna complain and whine and not do anything to help. Look for me to make a BUNCH of posts in the Suggestions section in the near future.

Remember, I'm NOT AN EXPERT AT THIS GAME, NOR DO I CLAIM TO BE, so, your experience will be vastly different from mine if you've been playing this long enough to make more than a billion BP on it. I'm still a newbie, so, keep that in mind before you flame me.
My review of the MMRPG Prototype.
Posted by ThatGuyNamedMikey on September 9th, 2014 at 9:43pm
Viewed 895 Times
 
CHAOS_FANTAZY
21,642,085 BP
7 TP | 121 PP
Posted on September 9th, 2014 at 9:59pm
Posted 2014/09/09 at 9:59pm
#1
Alright, alright, time for me to get off my horse and see you on even ground.

I've seen you going on and on for about three days now, and I still don't get how you had any trouble with the beginning of the game. And don't you dare discredit my following statements just because "it's been a while"—my memory is sharper than a foil; the only thing that has changed since I played is Bomb-Man's Danger Bomb getting a hilarious buff (Which I still say is dumb and Adrian needs to change).

So you start the game, you predictably lose your first battle and get Roll, so then you have 2 people and 8 Robots to take down. So what do you do? Why, you start where every other Mega Man player starts, my friend: with Cut-Man. Since Light Buster increases Defense every time you charge it, you can take the edge off of his attacks (And every other "attack-power-heavy" weapon in the game—seriously, the percentage weapons like Crash Bomb and Rain Flush are way worse), and since you gave it to Roll as well, you smart cookie, you can easily defeat Cut-Man in a Xover-esque slapfight without even trying.

Boom. Done. You just killed Cut using only Neutral-type weaponry; that means he joins the team and adds Rolling Cutter to your arsenal. You know how it goes from here. Once you have a weapon, this game becomes so easy it's scarcely even funny. Hitting an enemy with their weakness (Which you'll always know, thanks to Scan) puts a multiplier on the Experience Points you receive, deals double damage as well, and can one-shot a mecha even more consistently than a charged Buster shot (Though I'd still charge the buster first just so I have that stat boost). And if you'd rather have more Robots on your team than have bonus EXP...just slap Light Buster on that Robot you just got and keep running (Though do pick off the Mecha with weapons for the bonus EXP since they don't count)! If not through skill and tactics, you can easily overwhelm the first chapter with sheer numbers.

If that's somehow still not enough, replay an old level for Ye Olde RPG EXP Grind. I know, I know, it's unfortunate that they have to exist, but it's an inevitable part of nearly every RPG that we've all come to accept. And to be frank, if a little XP grinding completely ruined your opinion of MMRPG, I dare to call that shallow. Also, decentralize your character levels! "B-BUT CHAOS—!" Butt me no buts. One Level 50 character is way more dangerous than 5 Level 10 characters, simply by the design of the game's machinations.

Overall, is the beginning of MMRPG easy? No. Is that a bad thing? Heck no. Thinking tactically and applying general RPG conventions, the first chapter of the game is easily solved, if it is a bit challenging. And if you're a Mega Man fan, you know what is reasonable challenge and what is not. Or I would hope you know.

That is all.
^ Top
 
DrElwan
138,137,906 BP
1 TP | 4 PP
Posted on September 9th, 2014 at 11:15pm
Posted 2014/09/09 at 11:15pm
#2
I agree 100% with CHAOS. I only started playing two weeks ago so you can't say i don't remember either. When i first started i went after Cut Man and lost. So I said to myself "Welp, its a Mega Man so let's try a different level." Then I got Roll and went after Bomb Man and won... on my first try. So getting a foothold was not hard at all. Then I went after the bots in weakness order and had very little difficulty doing so. As for items they are not necessary, I only had to use those if I screwed up. Also I noticed that you compared the difficulty of this game to the X and Zero games and having played those, I think you might be overreacting a bit because those games were pure evil.
^ Top
 
ThatGuyNamedMikey
2,395,585,460 BP
32 TP | 451 PP
Posted on September 10th, 2014 at 2:30am
Posted 2014/09/10 at 2:30am
#3
@CHAOS_FANTAZY : "Alright, alright, time for me to get off my horse and see you on even ground."

Thank you.



@CHAOS_FANTAZY : "I've seen you going on and on for about three days now, and I still don't get how you had any trouble with the beginning of the game. And don't you dare discredit my following statements just because "it's been a while"—-my memory is sharper than a foil; the only thing that has changed since I played is Bomb-Man's Danger Bomb getting a hilarious buff (Which I still say is dumb and Adrian needs to change)."

Roger that. if you're seeing me on even ground; you rightfully deserve the same. Also, Danger Bomb can miss the opponent, though, so, it's more a desperation gamble than anythi--Ah, you're right, it's a stupid move, all around.



@CHAOS_FANTAZY : "So you start the game, you predictably lose your first battle and get Roll, so then you have 2 people and 8 Robots to take down. So what do you do? Why, you start where every other Mega Man player starts, my friend: with Cut-Man. Since Light Buster increases Defense every time you charge it, you can take the edge off of his attacks (And every other "attack-power-heavy" weapon in the game—seriously, the percentage weapons like Crash Bomb and Rain Flush are way worse), and since you gave it to Roll as well, you smart cookie, you can easily defeat Cut-Man in a Xover-esque slapfight without even trying."

Ah. It's not **quite** as common-sensical as it sounds *now*, when we have millions of BP and more experience. Again, I wanted to legitimately beat it by myself without ruining the challenge of simply scouring the board and reading all the helpful hints that you good people have posted. Where's the challenge and fun in that, right? You could make the viable argument that this is my fault for being stubborn as crap, but, I wanted to legitimately beat these guys on my own. Nothing wrong with that.

On my honor, though, that's ***not*** what I did when I got Roll. Seeing as how Cut can hit you 3 times per turn if you're as unlucky as I am [go see the game-breaking Ice Man bug I posted in the Bug Reports thread if you think I'm just whining about luck], I DIDN'T try him again immediately, but, rather, I went on to Guts Man, and then Ice Man, and then Bomb Man, and then Fire Man, and then Elec Man, and then Time Man, and finally Oil Man before again returning to Cut Man and NARROWLY beating him, even WITH a couple of Energy Pellets and Roll's help. See, you can't ignore the x2 damage multiplier that each boss has from fighting on their Field; that doesn't make things any better for the absolute beginner that doesn't know the ins and outs of this game, yet.

Also, the game, itself, as I mentioned, doesn't have a walkthrough tutorial that tells you that you can change your offensive repertoire for each robot before and after battles as often as you like. On my honor, I never actually knew this until I saw the in-game menu bar and until I finally got around to looking at Auto's Shop, ***then***, I came across the Robots option [which--then and ONLY then--pops up a box that tells you about being able to change your robots' offensive repertoire] and the Database option [which had a box tell me that I could Scan enemies in Battle for their strengths, weaknesses, affinities and immunities].

So, yeah, unless you went to the Forum for help and/or you're the type that goes to the Options Menu before ever playing a game, you'd probably figure all of that out easily. The rest of us....not so quickly. Another viable 'my fault' argument could be made here, but, jumping straight into the game is not as uncommon as you may think.



@CHAOS_FANTAZY : "Boom. Done. You just killed Cut using only Neutral-type weaponry; that means he joins the team and adds Rolling Cutter to your arsenal. You know how it goes from here. Once you have a weapon, this game becomes so easy it's scarcely even funny. Hitting an enemy with their weakness (Which you'll always know, thanks to Scan) puts a multiplier on the Experience Points you receive, deals double damage as well, and can one-shot a mecha even more consistently than a charged Buster shot (Though I'd still charge the buster first just so I have that stat boost). And if you'd rather have more Robots on your team than have bonus EXP...just slap Light Buster on that Robot you just got and keep running (Though do pick off the Mecha with weapons for the bonus EXP since they don't count)! If not through skill and tactics, you can easily overwhelm the first chapter with sheer numbers."

Again, the game, itself makes no mention of HOW you get them on your side, only THAT you CAN get them on your side. I was looking at the level descriptions in Light Chapter 4 before the game finally told me HOW to do this; no joke.
^ Top
 
ThatGuyNamedMikey
2,395,585,460 BP
32 TP | 451 PP
Posted on September 10th, 2014 at 2:36am
Posted 2014/09/10 at 2:36am
#4
Pardon the double post.

@CHAOS_FANTAZY: "If that's somehow still not enough, replay an old level for Ye Olde RPG EXP Grind. I know, I know, it's unfortunate that they have to exist, but it's an inevitable part of nearly every RPG that we've all come to accept. And to be frank, if a little XP grinding completely ruined your opinion of MMRPG, I dare to call that shallow. Also, decentralize your character levels! "B-BUT CHAOS—!" Butt me no buts. One Level 50 character is way more dangerous than 5 Level 10 characters, simply by the design of the game's machinations."

OK, here's where you and I are NOT going to see eye-to-eye, sir. My problem with grinding in RPG's is that it exists, it's that ***it shouldn't be needed so close to the beginning of a game***. An RPG should be as beginner-friendly [note that I said 'beginner-friendly', and not 'easy'; there IS a difference] as reasonably possible before any kind of steep difficulty curve shows up, so that the beginner can get to grips and know how to tackle that curve without wanting to say 'eff you' to the game and give up. Grinding should be going on LATER, when true challenges are supposed to start to present themselves, but, that's me and my 2 dollars and 50 cents, figuratively speaking.



@CHAOS_FANTAZY: "Overall, is the beginning of MMRPG easy? No. Is that a bad thing? Heck no. Thinking tactically and applying general RPG conventions, the first chapter of the game is easily solved, if it is a bit challenging. And if you're a Mega Man fan, you know what is reasonable challenge and what is not. Or I would hope you know.

That is all."

Of course it's not a bad thing. Just because a game's hard, doesn't automatically make it bad. I *promise* you that I get that. However, this game gets TOO hard TOO fast for a game with no walkthrough tutorial like most RPG's have.


@DrElwan: X1, X2 and X4 are actually pretty beginner-friendly-ish. X3 is harder, but, still viable, and X5 has both Easy, Medium and Hard ['Xtreme'] difficulty settings *and* a TRAINING mode, for goodness' sakes. Those aren't as hard as one may think, seeing as how there's always at least one clear-cut loser in the group. In X1, It's Chill Penguin. X2? Crystal Snail. X3? Neon Tiger. X4? Web Spider. X5? Grizzly Slash/Crescent Grizzly.

You're right on all counts with the Zero series, though, the difficulty curve in Zero 1 alone is insanely steep, never mind the 3 games that come after it, which are each even harder than the last. I've never even beaten Zero 4, yet.

The curve here is as strong as the curve in Zero 4, though; just as I had no idea that the weather played parts in how easy or hard a stage and it's boss would be, I also had no idea thatsome of the the more mandatory features could be accessed until you took a good long look at the Menus, which only pop up on the Level Selection screen, by the way, so, they're easier to miss than you may think.
^ Top
 
Moderator
Reisrat
10,600,490 BP
8 TP | 310 PP
Posted on September 10th, 2014 at 8:56am Edited on 2014/09/10 at 9:05am
Posted 2014/09/10 at 8:56am Edited 2014/09/10 at 9:05am
#5
I feel like looking through all the menus should be the first thing done in any game, but that's just me.

I always thought X3's chump was Blizzard Buffalo, myself.
I think Zero 4 had a tutorial prompt explaining "Oh hey the bosses are helped or hindered by the weather" but eh. Zero 1 and 2 are harder for me because I refuse to eat Cyberelves to gain power.
^ Top
 
ThatGuyNamedMikey
2,395,585,460 BP
32 TP | 451 PP
Posted on September 10th, 2014 at 11:36am Edited on 2014/09/10 at 1:10pm
Posted 2014/09/10 at 11:36am Edited 2014/09/10 at 1:10pm
#6
@Acting Mod Reisrat : Ah, but Blizzard is huge and sizable, And can freeze you, and can shake you off of walls, and has some semblance of aim with his ice crystals, and can get ahold of you and crash you into a wall.

Neon is arguably the most predictable boss in the entire X series. He just endlessly jumps from one corner to another while occasionally shooting easily dodged bolts with almost no aim whatsoever, and he occasionally does a straight-line tackle when his HP is low. Easily U-buster'd [Uncharged buster'd]

What Zero 4 *didn't* tell you is that, for a couple of the 8 bosses, The sun can be just as bad as the rain and the snow. Heat Genblem [the turtle-like one] immediately comes to mind.
^ Top
 
DrElwan
138,137,906 BP
1 TP | 4 PP
Posted on September 10th, 2014 at 11:38am
Posted 2014/09/10 at 11:38am
#7
@Mikey76500 : Yeah about the X series I was mainly thinking of the pure insanity that are the fortress stages. I hate those stages so much. Also on Zero 4 the mission description tells you if the weather is on easy or hard.
^ Top
 
Moderator
TheDoc
1,348,940,198 BP
3 TP | 718 PP
Posted on September 10th, 2014 at 2:13pm Edited on 2014/09/10 at 2:35pm
Posted 2014/09/10 at 2:13pm Edited 2014/09/10 at 2:35pm
#8
I think Blizzard Buffalo is easier than Neon mainly because of that stupid Ray Splasher (I can't tell if the bullet will/won't hit me if I jump or not), but also because he sometimes dives at you from the wall Slash Man style, which can just throw you off completely if you're not expecting it.

Back on topic, I introduced this game to my 12 yr old sister because she said she wanted to try it (she probably doesn't play it anymore) and, even though she desperately wanted to quit at times, she kept fighting (she chose to do Ice Man first) and finally, after her fifth try she beat him and was so happy. After that, she beat Bomb Man (I think she quit after that. These kind of games aren't really her thing.)

Getting a foothold is the hardest thing to do as a beginner, but that just takes perseverance. Have you ever played Pokemon? This game is essentially Mega Man Pokemon, except the only really hard part is the beginning (until Adrian makes fortress bosses MWAHAHAHAHA). Some games require luck. Period. Luckily, most of those games (this one included) allow you to keep trying. That's all it takes. You develop different strategies, different teams, more powerful robots, etc. how? By playing again and again. I can see that you're doing just fine now; you've completed 54 different missions, unlocked 3 playable characters, 26 robot fighters, 68 special abilities, and 39 field stars in a matter of FOUR DAYS! And you're complaining?

*sigh* Bottom line: keep trying. There is a limit to difficulty, and we all agree with that. But your own profile is proof that if you keep trying, you'll make it soon enough. There are so many players that joined this community later than me but are literally BILLIONS of BP ahead of me. Why? They keep playing the game! If you want to become better and progress farther, just play the game. If at first you don't succeed, try, try again. I'm done.
^ Top
 
ThatGuyNamedMikey
2,395,585,460 BP
32 TP | 451 PP
Posted on September 10th, 2014 at 3:41pm Edited on 2014/09/10 at 6:18pm
Posted 2014/09/10 at 3:41pm Edited 2014/09/10 at 6:18pm
#9
@DrElwan : Nonono, it simply tells you what weather it actually is. A sunny day usually does mean easiness,

@Acting Mod Reisrat : 'huge' also means hard to [dash] jump over. almost impossible without a wall being involved, actually. :P

@MetaKirbSter : Oh? Do break your rating down, pleaseandthankyou.

@MegaBossMan : Thank you? I think? x)

@TheDoc : TWO chapters, sir. Any Chapter 2 for Field Stars, and any Chapter 4 for Fusion Stars.

@Anti : As I stated to Chaos, my only problem with grinding is that it should come later. if you have to grind close to the start when you're clearly playing at optimal proficiency, chances are, the creators made it that way, either on purpose or by accident.

Again, not beginner-friendly.
^ Top
 
Moderator
Reisrat
10,600,490 BP
8 TP | 310 PP
Posted on September 10th, 2014 at 4:07pm
Posted 2014/09/10 at 4:07pm
#10
Eh, huge means easy to hit, and the only time you shouldn't be dashjumping like a madman in the X series is either during Storm Owl's desperation attack, or if you decide to be some kind of idiot who tries to justify using or not using a Ride Armor during a minimalist playthrough.
^ Top
 
Meta
1,588,665,489 BP
54 TP | 1658 PP
Posted on September 10th, 2014 at 4:29pm
Posted 2014/09/10 at 4:29pm
#11
really, my final rating is a 8.525/10.
^ Top
 
Administrator
MegaBossMan
4,484,807,684 BP
46 TP | 1612 PP
Posted on September 10th, 2014 at 4:37pm
Posted 2014/09/10 at 4:37pm
#12
I know everyone's arguing around here, but honestly I get Mikey, at least a little. You're not going to win on your first time, and you really have to try to win. I'm number #1, and I'll admit the beginning of this game is pretty difficult. It's not hard, per se, but calling it easy would be an overstatement.

So, you could say I agree with everyone here.
^ Top
 
Moderator
TheDoc
1,348,940,198 BP
3 TP | 718 PP
Posted on September 10th, 2014 at 5:21pm Edited on 2014/09/10 at 5:38pm
Posted 2014/09/10 at 5:21pm Edited 2014/09/10 at 5:38pm
#13
@Mikey76500 : "Every beginner doesn't have my patience for massive failure."

Well, patience is kinda necessary for a lot of games out there, one of them being Mega Man in general...If people aren't patient, that's not Adrian's fault. In fact, if Adrian made the game so that even the most impatient people could beat it without breaking a sweat, it wouldn't have any challenge, which is the whole point of playing a game.

Not gonna lie, though: there are a few things that I don't feel are explained very well in-game, mainly Starforce. My suggestion is start seriously adding stuff (and, most importantly, drawing attention) into the Mechanics section. As long as it's covered there, in-game shouldn't be a problem. I remember as a beginner that there were many game mechanics that didn't even have their own topic. Heck, Starforce and Player Fields STILL don't have their own topics (although Player Fields could just be part of Player Battles). Yeah, I understand that Starforce is covered after you beat one of the campaigns, but how is a beginner supposed to know that beforehand? If he stumbles across various mechanics that he hasn't unlocked while looking on the forums, he's gonna be confused outta his mind. However, if you make a topic for it, then note that it's only unlocked after completing a player's line of missions, then they'll know right away. Also, could you explain swapping fields to get Fusion Stars and this hypothetical Starforce thread? When I first beat Light's campaign, I didn't know you could interchange fields within the one chapter to get Fusion Stars.
^ Top
 
Anti
212,201,498 BP
0 TP | 6 PP
Posted on September 10th, 2014 at 5:37pm
Posted 2014/09/10 at 5:37pm
#14
My memory is fuzzy, but I didn't find the beginning that difficult. Granted, I did grind a couple of levels on the intro stage, but I don't recall having any problems with any of the robot masters.
^ Top
 
ThatGuyNamedMikey
2,395,585,460 BP
32 TP | 451 PP
Posted on September 10th, 2014 at 6:59pm Edited on 2014/09/10 at 9:24pm
Posted 2014/09/10 at 6:59pm Edited 2014/09/10 at 9:24pm
#15
@DrElwan : Nonono, it simply tells you what weather it actually is. A sunny day usually does mean easiness, But, Sol Titanion and Heat Gemblem will use their EX skills against you in the heat. Ugh.

@Acting Mod Reisrat : 'huge' also means hard to [dash] jump over. almost impossible without a wall being involved, actually. :P

@MetaKirbSter : Oh? Do break your rating down, pleaseandthankyou.

@MegaBossMan : Thank you? I think? x)

@TheDoc : TWO chapters, sir. Any Chapter 2 for Field Stars, and any Chapter 4 for Fusion Stars.

@Anti : As I stated to Chaos, my only problem with grinding is that it should come later. if you have to grind close to the start when you're clearly playing at optimal proficiency, chances are, the creators made it that way, either on purpose or by accident.

Again, not beginner-friendly.
^ Top
 
Moderator
Reisrat
10,600,490 BP
8 TP | 310 PP
Posted on September 10th, 2014 at 7:15pm
Posted 2014/09/10 at 7:15pm
#16
Wait there's other ways to dash-jump?

Welp I guess I was doing way more than I had to for Web Spider.
^ Top
 
DrElwan
138,137,906 BP
1 TP | 4 PP
Posted on September 10th, 2014 at 7:15pm
Posted 2014/09/10 at 7:15pm
#17
@Mikey76500 : You sure? I remember the navigator saying things like "The weather is ____ this is the time to strike / the weather will interfere with the mission"
^ Top
 
Tobyjoey
2,074,810,633 BP
7 TP | 411 PP
Posted on September 10th, 2014 at 8:36pm
Posted 2014/09/10 at 8:36pm
#18
@Mikey76500 : Maybe I am just bad at rpgs, but when I started playing this game, it was INFURIATING. I am one of those people, that tries to do as many different orders on Mega Man games, so I used that knowledge here. I wasn't sure who I would go to first, but I knew it wouldn't be Cut Man. I think I tried Fire Man first, and was obliterated. Then Guts Man, then Ice Man, then Oil Man and lost to all. I eventually won against Bomb Man due to luck on him missing several Hyper Bomb, and then I see I unlock him. Great. Now I can use that to fight Guts Man, and then I don't unlock him. Wait, what? Why not? What's wrong? Was I to slow? Do I have to take out his minions first? I eventually retried all of these methods, and keep in mind his level is slowly increasing. I finally swallow my pride and look up how to unlock robot masters, and I need to destroy him with only neutral moves. What?!? Why does the game punish me for using weaknesses! What if the minion switches with the boss and I accidentally hit him? What are the points in weaknesses? HOW DO YOU USE MEGA MAN'S COPY ABILITY?!?(passes out).

Long story short, narrowly beat Bomb Man by luck, complain on how to unlock robot masters, still think this is a great game with an amazing community, not beginner friendly imo.
^ Top
 
ThatGuyNamedMikey
2,395,585,460 BP
32 TP | 451 PP
Posted on September 10th, 2014 at 9:25pm
Posted 2014/09/10 at 9:25pm
#19
@Acting Mod Reisrat : You didn't know that you can Dash Jump off of walls [Including X1, once you get Dash Upgrade from Chill's stage]?

@DrElwan : The navigator says absolutely nothing about the boss being easier or harder, though; regardless of what weather condition a level is, the only real way to tell if you just eff'ed up and chose the wrong one--so far as I know of--is by playing the stage.

@tobyjoey : Using a Robot Master's weakness [or even a regular enemy's weakness, for that matter], you'll gain more experience from that fight, but, using any kind of attack besides Neutral-type attacks on an RM will kill any chance of you unlocking that RM.

I don't mind this so much; The game basically demonstrates that you can also be rewarded for UNDERkilling just as much as OVERkilling.
^ Top
 
Tobyjoey
2,074,810,633 BP
7 TP | 411 PP
Posted on September 10th, 2014 at 9:39pm
Posted 2014/09/10 at 9:39pm
#20
@Mikey76500 : I know that now, but I didn't then.
^ Top

- login to comment -

« Back to Home | Mega Man and all related names and characters are © Capcom 1986 - 2017. | Contact & Feedback »
This game is fan-made by Adrian Marceau, not affiliated or endorsed by Capcom at all, and is in no way official. Any and all feedback is appreciated. :)